Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community

Reading and Phonics

At Oasis Academy Clarksfield, we believe reading is a vital skill that will support children's learning across the whole curriculum. We want children to become enthusiastic, independent and reflective readers who are able to read with fluency, accuracy and understanding.

But, as importantly, we want all pupils  to leave Year 6 with a love of reading and a desire to read for enjoyment. There are many ways in which we can help our children in school to develop a desire, hunger and passion for reading, and this page is designed to do just that outside of school.

Reading Scheme

We base our reading scheme in EYFS and KS1 on Oxford Reading Tree and Bug Club, but use other texts to challenge more able readers. This enables us to consolidate learning and develop as wide a reading vocabulary as possible.

Each class has its own reading corner with books from a variety of authors and genres and there is also a main library.

Children take reading books home in order to practise their reading skills and to share their learning with parents. Children are also encouraged to take part in library sessions to encourage reading for pleasure and give them the opportunity to hear modelled reading and opportunities to 'magpie' vocabulary. During library sessions, children complete book reviews and presentations about the books that they have read.

In KS1 and KS2, reading sessions are taught through a quality text which is matched to their curriculum topic to enable children to focus on their development and understanding of language, in particular subject specific vocabulary which in turn feeds into their writing.


Our Phonics scheme is Letters and Sounds. 

Letters and Sounds is a phonics resource published by the Department for Education and Skills in 2007. It aims to build children's speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. It sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills for children starting by the age of five, with the aim of them becoming fluent readers by age seven.

There are six different phases used in this scheme which the academy follows:

Phase Phonic Knowledge and Skills
One (Nursery/Reception)   Activities are divided into seven aspects, including environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice sounds and finally oral blending and segmenting.
Two (Reception) up to 6 weeks Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound for each. Blending sounds together to make words. Segmenting words into their separate sounds. Beginning to read simple captions.
Three (Reception) up to 12 weeks The remaining 7 letters of the alphabet, one sound for each. Graphemes such as ch, oo, th representing the remaining phonemes not covered by single letters. Reading captions, sentences and questions. On completion of this phase, children will have learnt the "simple code", i.e. one grapheme for each phoneme in the English language.
Four (Reception) 4 to 6 weeks No new grapheme-phoneme correspondences are taught in this phase. Children learn to blend and segment longer words with adjacent consonants, e.g. swim, clap, jump.
Five (Throughout Year 1) Now we move on to the "complex code". Children learn more graphemes for the phonemes which they already know, plus different ways of pronouncing the graphemes they already know.
Six (Throughout Year 2 and beyond)  Working on spelling, including prefixes and suffixes, doubling and dropping letters etc.


You can find out more about the Letters and Sounds scheme and download all appropriate learning resources directly from their website

Phonics Screening Check

At the end of Year 1, every child is expected to take a Phonics Screening Check which is designed to confirm whether pupils have learnt phonic decoding to an appropriate standard. It will also identify pupils who need extra help to improve their decoding skills.